Author Topic: OpenHeroSelect  (Read 732 times)

Offline Tony Stark

  • Marvel Modder
  • Incredible Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1263
  • Upvotes 59
  • Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
OpenHeroSelect
« on: June 09, 2019, 03:59pm »
It's finally here! A new HeroSelect that supports the default 27 characters, but also supports the 28 character hack and the 33 character hack!

It's easy to use, way more convenient than dealing with every stat with xmlbcui every time, and very extensible!

Remember to make a backup before trying it out, and leave feedback here in case you run into trouble!


FAQ
How do I run this?
Just run OpenHeroSelect.exe to convert the included herostat.cfg into the herostat.xmlb and engb and all that automatically! It's that easy!

Using the default characters from the OC pack? Just run OpenHeroSelect.exe and you're good to go!

Got your own roster you want to use? No problem, it's really easy to modify the included herostat.cfg, and if you've got an old herostat.cfg you have just right from the old HeroSelect, it's really easy to convert! Just remove a few lines and add a couple more (it's all in the included Instructions file)!

Great, what makes this so much better than the old one?
Unlike the old HeroSelect, OpenHeroSelect supports more than just the default 27 characters. You could theoretically use any setup of menulocations and any number of characters you want, no programming knowledge required! All you'd have to do is generate a new menulocations.cfg file. Not to mention, this one's open source!

What is menulocations.cfg anyway? It wasn't in the old HeroSelect.
This is the new config file that lets you specify which menulocations you want to use. By default, it's set to use the default number of 27 characters from left to right, in the order of the names listed in your herostat.cfg.

But you're not limited to that! There are already options included for the 28-character hack and the 33-character hack in addition to the 27-character default. Just swap out the menulocations.cfg file for the one you want to use. Like the default, they all work from left to right in the order the names are listed in the herostat.cfg file.

If you really want to, you can even go in and modify your menulocations.cfg file to support different menulocations and arrangements, just be careful to use the right numbers for what you have.

You keep saying open, what's so "open" about this?
This project is open source! The source isn't available just yet, I want to make sure everything works properly before I release it, but in time I'll put the source code out so the project can be extended even further by others if there's a need.
CHECK OUT MY RELEASES!
RESOURCE BACKUP THREAD

If you need me, please email me if important. PM me or post in my thread otherwise.

Offline Tobi777

  • Rook
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Upvotes 0
Re: OpenHeroSelect
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2019, 04:02pm »
Interesting. I might check this out! More characters is a must for me, thanks a ton!

Offline andersonbrazil

  • Marvel Modder
  • Incredible Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 835
  • Upvotes 112
  • The greatest hero died because of many.
Re: OpenHeroSelect
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2019, 05:55pm »
Tony, I am a loyal user of Heroselect, and my first tutorials on YouTube were dedicated to teaching to everybody how to use it and even solve errors, so on behalf of all my subscribers who enjoy using heroselect I thank you and congratulate you on this,  your initiative. I'm very anxious to test all the latest news from our forum. Congratulations on your great idea!

                                               
The greatest hero died because of many.

Offline Tony Stark

  • Marvel Modder
  • Incredible Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1263
  • Upvotes 59
  • Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Re: OpenHeroSelect
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2019, 06:13pm »
Thanks guys! Let me know how it works for you!
CHECK OUT MY RELEASES!
RESOURCE BACKUP THREAD

If you need me, please email me if important. PM me or post in my thread otherwise.

Offline Outsider

  • From The Darkest Realm
  • Moderator
  • Incredible Member
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2157
  • Upvotes 210
Re: OpenHeroSelect
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2019, 06:39pm »
Excellent work, Stark. I won't be able to try it out just yet, but Anderson and others who use Heroselect on the regular -- feel free to inform everyone how it performs when you try it out.


Offline andersonbrazil

  • Marvel Modder
  • Incredible Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 835
  • Upvotes 112
  • The greatest hero died because of many.
Re: OpenHeroSelect
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2019, 07:29am »
Great job really Tony!
I tried it here.
I'm using 33 RH. After reading the instructions, I made the changes in herostat.cfg to it adapt to the herostat of my game.

Very easy to handle, very practical. The numbering of the menulocation, separated in that cfg file, it helps a lot to organize the characters in the most appropriate places. Very good indeed. I liked. I do not know if you have already closed the project, but would like to propose the inclusion of a feature that you surely have already thought of in it. If possible, the inclusion of a new graphic map of the places in the menulocation would, in my view, be a great outcome for this project. To organize the places of each character I used the menulocation.cfg file but I had to use an image of the menulocation, used in the 33RH topic to put me on screen. If you could include a map, with vertical view, as it is in the application of heroselect would aid in a rapid organization of characters in menulocation. I point this proposal just to try to contribute a little with your project that is already fantastic, but if this is not possible, know that I have already been very pleased to have this new tool in hand and that from now I'll  to make this it, the official method of modification in MUA, in my game. Depending on what you decide I will wait or not because I want create a new video tutorial on my channel, about it.
Congratulations Tony! I really enjoyed the OpenHeroselect tool!                                                                       
                                                   
                                           
 
« Last Edit: June 10, 2019, 07:32am by andersonbrazil »
The greatest hero died because of many.

Offline Tony Stark

  • Marvel Modder
  • Incredible Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1263
  • Upvotes 59
  • Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Re: OpenHeroSelect
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2019, 07:37am »
Great job really Tony!
I tried it here.
I'm using 33 RH. After reading the instructions, I made the changes in herostat.cfg to adapt to the herostat of my game.

Very easy to handle, very practical. The numbering of the menulocation, separated in that cfg file, it helps a lot to organize the characters in the most appropriate places. Very good indeed. I liked. I do not know if you have already closed the project, but would like to propose the inclusion of a feature that you surely have already thought of in it. If possible, the inclusion of a new graphic map of the places in the menulocation would, in my view, be a great outcome for this project. To organize the places of each character I used the menulocation.cfg file but I had to use an image of the menulocation, used in the 33RH topic to put me on screen. If you could include a map, with vertical view, as it is in the application of heroselect would aid in a rapid organization of characters in menulocation. I point this proposal just to try to contribute a little with your project that is already fantastic, but if this is not possible, know that I have already been very pleased to have this new tool in hand and that from now I'll  to make this it, the official method of modification in MUA, in my game. Depending on what you decide I will wait or not because I want create a new video tutorial on my channel, about it.
Congratulations Tony! I really enjoyed the OpenHeroselect tool!                                                                       
                                                   
                                           
 

Thanks! So the problem with the map is that this application isn't graphical, it's 100% text based. It would certainly be possible to write an application to do that, but it would require another full rewrite (or actually more easily it could theoretically be another application altogether). Right now the project isn't structured to do anything more than take in and put out text, but I would welcome a companion project that can rearrange the names in herostat.cfg and show the numbers based on the memulocations.cfg. Also you would need an image for every individual menulocation.cfg version, and would somehow need to specify the location of each number inside the image. I think it would be a full project to do it, but if someone else is willing to do it, I'm happy to include it.
CHECK OUT MY RELEASES!
RESOURCE BACKUP THREAD

If you need me, please email me if important. PM me or post in my thread otherwise.

Offline Username

  • Uncanny Member
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Upvotes 1
Re: OpenHeroSelect
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2019, 07:30am »
hallelujah the 33 heroselect, thanks man

Offline Tony Stark

  • Marvel Modder
  • Incredible Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1263
  • Upvotes 59
  • Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Re: OpenHeroSelect
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2019, 07:59am »
hallelujah the 33 heroselect, thanks man

Let me know how it works for you! Hopefully it works as well as it did for Anderson.
CHECK OUT MY RELEASES!
RESOURCE BACKUP THREAD

If you need me, please email me if important. PM me or post in my thread otherwise.

Offline LarsAlexandersson

  • Convo Starters
  • Incredible Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1519
  • Upvotes 28
  • The fighting/action game xpert & informer.
    • http://larsmasters.deviantart.com/
Re: OpenHeroSelect
« Reply #9 on: June 13, 2019, 06:18am »
Someday, 36 heroselect. Someday.
Call me Lars. I'm Power Cosmic no more.

"Trying to solve mysteries of modding here"

My Progress:
http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php/topic,4671.0.html

Feel free to mod my releases, as long you credit me:
http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php/topic,4488.0.html

Offline Tony Stark

  • Marvel Modder
  • Incredible Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1263
  • Upvotes 59
  • Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Re: OpenHeroSelect
« Reply #10 on: June 13, 2019, 08:49am »
Someday, 36 heroselect. Someday.

It'll be very easy to make! All you'll have to do is copy menulocations.cfg and add the new spots.
CHECK OUT MY RELEASES!
RESOURCE BACKUP THREAD

If you need me, please email me if important. PM me or post in my thread otherwise.

Offline LarsAlexandersson

  • Convo Starters
  • Incredible Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1519
  • Upvotes 28
  • The fighting/action game xpert & informer.
    • http://larsmasters.deviantart.com/
Re: OpenHeroSelect
« Reply #11 on: June 13, 2019, 09:19am »
Only problem needs to be taken care of first before new heroselect are regarding of mlm_team_back slot location via 3DS Max 4 - 5 (Old Alchemy) & 4 - 2013 (32-bit Alchemy 5.0)), & team_back selection coding
Call me Lars. I'm Power Cosmic no more.

"Trying to solve mysteries of modding here"

My Progress:
http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php/topic,4671.0.html

Feel free to mod my releases, as long you credit me:
http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php/topic,4488.0.html

Offline Outsider

  • From The Darkest Realm
  • Moderator
  • Incredible Member
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2157
  • Upvotes 210
Re: OpenHeroSelect
« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2019, 12:28pm »
Well, if the game's memory can be somehow increased, having 36 or more on the roster would indeed be more possible. It would likely fix the "last 5" issues with the 33 Roster Hack. So far though, Krisan Thyme hasn't had any luck in doing so. I suspect that because he plays multiple games, he may not be completely focused on MUA though.

Hearing good things about this OpenHeroselect (OHS) program so far... I'll try it myself when I get a chance, but in the meantime, I'll be paying attention to the reviews. Well done.


Offline SypherVendetta

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Upvotes 0
  • The End Is Near.
Re: OpenHeroSelect
« Reply #13 on: June 14, 2019, 01:40pm »
this does not work for me sorry, i installed it, set the correct path for it to find the herostat.xml in the data folder, made sure the path double backslashes and it did not work for me, not sure why it will not work, but i have given up for now, if you need to know more i can provide screenshots in discord if you like.