Author Topic: Magneto (Dream Weaver)  (Read 516 times)

Offline Cohollow

  • Marvel Modder
  • Sir Posts-a-lot
  • **********
  • Posts: 231
  • Upvotes 30
  • Oh my stars and garters
    • Check out my sneak peeks thread to keep up with my mods
Re: Magneto (Dream Weaver)
« Reply #15 on: July 18, 2019, 05:33pm »
it really isnt. something wierd happens when u try to fix it. mine wound up looking like this

      talentvalues {
         talentvalue {
         level = 1 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_req ;
         value = 7 ;
         }

         talentvalue {
         level = 16 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_req ;
         value = 58 ;
         }

         talentvalue {
         level = 1 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_pwr ;
         value = 88 ;
         }

         talentvalue {
         level = 16 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_pwr ;
         value = 504 ;
         }

         talentvalue {
         level = 1 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_life ;
         value = 13 ;
         }

         talentvalue {
         level = 16 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_life ;
         value = 55 ;
         }

         talentvalue {
         level = 1 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_skills ;
         value = 1 ;
         }

         talentvalue {
         level = 26 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_skills ;
         value = 3 ;
         }

         talentvalue {
         interpolate = false ;
         level = 1 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_skill ;
         value = 1 ;
         }

         talentvalue {
         interpolate = false ;
         level = 5 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_skill ;
         value = 2 ;
         }

         talentvalue {
         interpolate = false ;
         level = 15 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_skill ;
         value = 3 ;
         }

         talentvalue {
         level = 1 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_scale ;
         value = 0.95 ;
         }

         talentvalue {
         level = 16 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_scale ;
         value = 0.75 ;
         }

      }

      level {
      count = 16 ;
      description = +%mag_supremacy_skill all skills\n%mag_supremacy_scale:s $EP cost\n%mag_supremacy_life seconds\n%mag_supremacy_pwr $EP ;

ignore the scale stat that changes ep cost

Offline Maegawa

  • Marvel Modder
  • Incredible Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 566
  • Upvotes 50
Re: Magneto (Dream Weaver)
« Reply #16 on: July 19, 2019, 08:50am »
         talentvalue {
         level = 1 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_skills ;
         value = 1 ;
         }

         talentvalue {
         level = 26 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_skills ;
         value = 3 ;
         }

         talentvalue {
         interpolate = false ;
         level = 1 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_skill ;
         value = 1 ;
         }

         talentvalue {
         interpolate = false ;
         level = 5 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_skill ;
         value = 2 ;
         }

         talentvalue {
         interpolate = false ;
         level = 15 ;
         name = mag_supremacy_skill ;
         value = 3 ;
         }

You can use just mag_supremacy_skill instead of using 2 different values.

I don't know if you're already familiarized with the interpolate = false line, but I'll try to explain it. In the example above, mag_supremacy_skills has value 1 at level 1 and value 3 on level 26. By not having the interpolate = false line the game will automatically generate the levels in which the value will go from 1 to 2, and from 2 to 3. When that happens the values that are used in the powerstyle will probably not match the ones from the talent in terms of when it goes from one to another, which is what causes the inconsistency between what the description says and what actually happens. On the other hand, if you were to add the interpolate = false to mag_supremacy_skills, the value would be 1 from level 1 to level 25, and would skip straight to 3 at level 26.

I don't know if my explanation was understandable, or if you already knew about it, please let me know...
Click here for my releases.
And here for my workbench.

Offline Cohollow

  • Marvel Modder
  • Sir Posts-a-lot
  • **********
  • Posts: 231
  • Upvotes 30
  • Oh my stars and garters
    • Check out my sneak peeks thread to keep up with my mods
Re: Magneto (Dream Weaver)
« Reply #17 on: July 19, 2019, 12:40pm »
yes im well aware of how interpolate works but it doesnt work correctly. something about this skill is super weird and ignores my controls. with it set to 3 at level 26 its actually 3 at level 15. I've messed with this skill a lot and something about it is just buggered. so I had to do it like this so that it adds the same amount of skills the description says it does

Offline Maegawa

  • Marvel Modder
  • Incredible Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 566
  • Upvotes 50
Re: Magneto (Dream Weaver)
« Reply #18 on: July 19, 2019, 09:31pm »
Is his powerstyle referencing mag_supremacy_skills or mag_supremacy_skill? Might be worth checking...
Click here for my releases.
And here for my workbench.

Offline Cohollow

  • Marvel Modder
  • Sir Posts-a-lot
  • **********
  • Posts: 231
  • Upvotes 30
  • Oh my stars and garters
    • Check out my sneak peeks thread to keep up with my mods
Re: Magneto (Dream Weaver)
« Reply #19 on: July 19, 2019, 09:34pm »
its going off skills. the skill one is just to make the description proper

Offline Cohollow

  • Marvel Modder
  • Sir Posts-a-lot
  • **********
  • Posts: 231
  • Upvotes 30
  • Oh my stars and garters
    • Check out my sneak peeks thread to keep up with my mods
Re: Magneto (Dream Weaver)
« Reply #20 on: July 19, 2019, 09:37pm »
its not anything ive done wrong. Adding to skill points is just inherently messed up and adds more than u set it too. by making 3 points at lvl 26 it adds 3 points by level 15 and 2 points by level 5 so i did that and then added the other skills definer to accurately reflect that in the description

Offline Maegawa

  • Marvel Modder
  • Incredible Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 566
  • Upvotes 50
Re: Magneto (Dream Weaver)
« Reply #21 on: July 19, 2019, 11:40pm »
Wow, that sucks, XML2 seems to handle it worse than MUA does. Either way, clever way to work around it you found...
Click here for my releases.
And here for my workbench.