Author Topic: 36 Roster Hack (v1.0) "The Holy Grail"  (Read 2289 times)

Offline Tony Stark

  • Marvel Modder
  • Incredible Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1284
  • Upvotes: 65
  • Pizza Time!
Re: 36 Roster Hack (v1.0) "The Holy Grail"
« Reply #15 on: September 05, 2019, 05:26pm »
It still amazes me that a whole 13 years after this game was released, we still have a bunch of people working on modding this game and coming up with incredible improvements like this.

Offline Canino

  • Marvel Modder
  • Fantastic Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 372
  • Upvotes: 56
Re: 36 Roster Hack (v1.0) "The Holy Grail"
« Reply #16 on: September 05, 2019, 05:31pm »


Thank goodness!!!

Great work fellas!!! I'm not sure about my feelings right now.

"It doesn't matter what you do, but how you do it."

Offline SuperiorSpidey 2002

  • Amazing Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Upvotes: 8
Re: 36 Roster Hack (v1.0) "The Holy Grail"
« Reply #17 on: September 05, 2019, 05:33pm »
YEEEEEEEE BOOOOOOI. IM GOING FULL HOUSE NOW XD
I'm just a Unpopular SpideyFan with naggin' Habit for Camera
My YT: http://youtube.com/c/SuperiorSpyderSpideyFan
My Insta: https://www.instagram.com/superiorspyderfan/

Offline scottsum

  • Marvel Modder
  • Sir Posts-a-lot
  • **********
  • Posts: 134
  • Upvotes: 23
Re: 36 Roster Hack (v1.0) "The Holy Grail"
« Reply #18 on: September 05, 2019, 05:51pm »
Outsider, what changes were made to the maps/act1/heli/heli1.engb file?  I have a version of that file in the JL conversation mod.

Congrats on the 36R release to all those involved.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2019, 07:37pm by scottsum »

Online Jaybird

  • Fantastic Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
  • Upvotes: 12
Re: 36 Roster Hack (v1.0) "The Holy Grail"
« Reply #19 on: September 05, 2019, 08:37pm »
Hey guys, my herostat compiled properly but now it's crashing my game. I can't get past the first scene. Any advice?

Offline Outsider

  • From The Darkest Realm
  • Admin
  • Incredible Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 2233
  • Upvotes: 229
Re: 36 Roster Hack (v1.0) "The Holy Grail"
« Reply #20 on: September 05, 2019, 08:54pm »
Thanks everyone for all the feedback -- this was a dream for a long time for many of us, and it's finally here. Let us all enjoy the awesomeness.


Outsider, what changes were made to the maps/act1/heli/heli1.engb file?  I have a version of that file in the JL conversation mod.

Congrats on the 36R release to all those involved.

I only added an extraction point to the first stage, via brandonmeek's code.


Hey guys, my herostat compiled properly but now it's crashing my game. I can't get past the first scene. Any advice?

Check your herostat -- make sure you have no more than 36 characters at the correct menu location numbers, then the "team_character" entry and the "defaultman" entry. Then make sure you start a new game -- I can't stress that enough.


Online Jaybird

  • Fantastic Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
  • Upvotes: 12
Re: 36 Roster Hack (v1.0) "The Holy Grail"
« Reply #21 on: September 05, 2019, 11:47pm »
I can't even get to the point where you select a new game. I've checked and double-checked. I don't know where i right wrong. Can someone take a like at it for me?
https://www.mediafire.com/file/1j7f9id8o4m42g5/herostat.xml/file

Offline andersonbrazil

  • Marvel Modder
  • Incredible Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 876
  • Upvotes: 130
  • The greatest hero died because of many.
Re: 36 Roster Hack (v1.0) "The Holy Grail"
« Reply #22 on: September 06, 2019, 02:18am »
I can't even get to the point where you select a new game. I've checked and double-checked. I don't know where i right wrong. Can someone take a like at it for me?
https://www.mediafire.com/file/1j7f9id8o4m42g5/herostat.xml/file

When you installed the folders you also installed the dll called "dinput8.dll". This also happened to me on the first attempt after installation. When I extracted this dll to the game directory everything went well.
The greatest hero died because of many.

Offline superaceman34

  • Amazing Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
  • Upvotes: 1
  • Doc Ock for MH!
Re: 36 Roster Hack (v1.0) "The Holy Grail"
« Reply #23 on: September 06, 2019, 09:32am »
I can't even get to the point where you select a new game. I've checked and double-checked. I don't know where i right wrong. Can someone take a like at it for me?
https://www.mediafire.com/file/1j7f9id8o4m42g5/herostat.xml/file

Have you also installed the OC pack? I only ask because I forgot and had the same issue  :chuckle:

Online Jaybird

  • Fantastic Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
  • Upvotes: 12
Re: 36 Roster Hack (v1.0) "The Holy Grail"
« Reply #24 on: September 06, 2019, 10:17am »
I completely overlooked the dinput8.dll, I didn't even install it. Thanks for the help guys.

Online LarsAlexandersson

  • Convo Starters
  • Incredible Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1536
  • Upvotes: 38
  • The fighting/action game xpert & informer.
    • http://larsmasters.deviantart.com/
Re: 36 Roster Hack (v1.0) "The Holy Grail"
« Reply #25 on: September 08, 2019, 05:33am »
Now what shall I do with the playable characters’ items then? If I recalled correctly, it won’t come out due exceed 27 based limits on the playables. Should I made the items being a regular like in XML2.
Call me Lars. I'm Power Cosmic no more.

"Trying to solve mysteries of modding here"

My Progress:
http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php/topic,4671.0.html

Feel free to mod my releases, as long you credit me:
http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php/topic,4488.0.html

Offline Enigma

  • Uncanny Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Upvotes: 0
Re: 36 Roster Hack (v1.0) "The Holy Grail"
« Reply #26 on: September 08, 2019, 10:03pm »
Forgive me if this is already a known issue or a mistake I made but I had an odd issue:
I set up herostat the way the instructions said and with the characters in herostat from left/top to right/bottom. One character I put in in spot 20 (Emma Frost) had 2 powers that appeared fine in the character menu but could not be selected or used in-game. I copy and pasted her entry to 2nd from top in herostat but still in spot 20 and she worked fine. No other characters had this issue, though if I did more re-arranging of my herostat, who knows. I had also started a new game and used defaults stats with every change I made. So, if anyone else had any power issues like this, try copy and pasting the entry but leaving the spot the same and that fixes it.

Offline andersonbrazil

  • Marvel Modder
  • Incredible Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 876
  • Upvotes: 130
  • The greatest hero died because of many.
Re: 36 Roster Hack (v1.0) "The Holy Grail"
« Reply #27 on: September 09, 2019, 08:32am »
It's great to have such a full menulocation.
Guys, the fact that it has increased the memory of the game implies that the old problems we faced, such as flaws in power animations and common jump and punch animations, have disappeared?
I ask this because some of my subscribers have reported to me that they are experiencing these errors, even if playing with three characters. I did some more detailed testing and noticed that it really happens, but with the secret code of opening all powers, this is solved.
The greatest hero died because of many.

Offline Outsider

  • From The Darkest Realm
  • Admin
  • Incredible Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 2233
  • Upvotes: 229
Re: 36 Roster Hack (v1.0) "The Holy Grail"
« Reply #28 on: September 09, 2019, 11:41am »
For those wondering about if/when the same thing can be done for XML2, Nikita told me that he plans to, but currently he is starting college and won't have the time to attempt it at this time. I myself got XML2 now, but I just haven't had the chance to really play with it yet. When Nikita is ready, he and I will work on a way to increase XML2's memory and expand their roster. Since XML2 doesn't use mannequins, it may be a little easier, but their coding is different than MUA, so it will require some looking into.


Now what shall I do with the playable characters’ items then? If I recalled correctly, it won’t come out due exceed 27 based limits on the playables. Should I made the items being a regular like in XML2.

I usually leave the items alone, since I once tried to alter the items, and it failed miserably. But if you feel you can successfully pull it off, then by all means, go ahead and let us know the results. I will never discourage anyone from trying to make something even better.


Forgive me if this is already a known issue or a mistake I made but I had an odd issue:
I set up herostat the way the instructions said and with the characters in herostat from left/top to right/bottom. One character I put in in spot 20 (Emma Frost) had 2 powers that appeared fine in the character menu but could not be selected or used in-game. I copy and pasted her entry to 2nd from top in herostat but still in spot 20 and she worked fine. No other characters had this issue, though if I did more re-arranging of my herostat, who knows. I had also started a new game and used defaults stats with every change I made. So, if anyone else had any power issues like this, try copy and pasting the entry but leaving the spot the same and that fixes it.

It's great to have such a full menulocation.
Guys, the fact that it has increased the memory of the game implies that the old problems we faced, such as flaws in power animations and common jump and punch animations, have disappeared?
I ask this because some of my subscribers have reported to me that they are experiencing these errors, even if playing with three characters. I did some more detailed testing and noticed that it really happens, but with the secret code of opening all powers, this is solved.

Hearing both of these reports, I just ran a test using three characters: :emmafrost: Emma Frost (at menu location 20), :moonstar: Danielle Moonstar, and an unedited :magneto: Magneto that I recreated as his good guy clone, Joseph. Using that team of three, I ran through the entire Hellicarrier mission checking all basic and power animations, and thankfully there were no issues found. All three were working just fine and leveled up at about the same time.

My test concludes that it is not the 36R that is causing the problems that were reported. If it were, I too would have experienced the same problem. I would suggest that herostats are checked -- confirming that you have exactly 36 (with no menu locations repeated), then the team_character (MyTeam) feature, then defaultman. (Defaultman is there as a placeholder in case errors happen -- that's what Nikita told me, anyway. In the past, I didn't have defaultman's entry and my game still played fine.) Also, make sure that everything from the 36R has been installed into your game, including that dll file, as I heard some people forgot to include that for some reason. Include everything. If problems persist, post them here.

However, be wary that there is a different limit -- the 117 fightmove limit that Maegawa discovered. The 36R does not fix that, so if you're having problems with character animations, then that could be the reason. In that case, try a different team of three. Four characters (depending on who they are) may go over that limit. See then if the problems still happen.

EDIT: UltraMegaMagnus just informed me that he too checked out the 36R on his game, and didn't see any issues either.


« Last Edit: September 09, 2019, 12:02pm by Outsider »

Offline Enigma

  • Uncanny Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Upvotes: 0
Re: 36 Roster Hack (v1.0) "The Holy Grail"
« Reply #29 on: September 09, 2019, 03:55pm »
I'll keep all that in mind. I have the hack installed properly and no slot is repeated in herostat. I tested again and even on a team of Emma and on one else, the problem persists. And it's like 2 of her powers don't exist: just an empty spot when I cycle through them with the controller in-game and trying to use those attacks does nothing. I guess I'll just reshuffle my herostat entries if it happens with anyone else.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2019, 08:08pm by Enigma »