Author Topic: OFFICIAL X-Men Legends PC progress topic  (Read 34267 times)

Offline BlueElf

  • Uncanny Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Upvotes 3
Re: OFFICIAL X-Men Legends PC progress topic
« Reply #120 on: August 31, 2014, 04:14pm »
I still can't add Angel after what you told me. Also, I can't pass on when I finish beating Toad. How do I get Alison back on my team so I can continue to the sewer?

Other than that, it is a great build. Keep up the good work.

Offline iFolks

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Upvotes 0
Re: OFFICIAL X-Men Legends PC progress topic
« Reply #121 on: August 31, 2014, 04:31pm »
wow great work,so many thanks for restart this project !! and like the guy above said, when i go to subbasement after defeat toad my game crash (i know ,i know ,you also mentioned on the post about the new build ,but you also mentioned that the game would "teleport me" automatically which didn't happen x.x)
PS:I'm so sorry for my bad English ,i hope you have understood xD
« Last Edit: August 31, 2014, 04:34pm by iFolks »

Offline Shunshi

  • Amazing Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Upvotes 1
  • If only I could make them feel the pain they cause
Re: OFFICIAL X-Men Legends PC progress topic
« Reply #122 on: August 31, 2014, 07:30pm »
wow great work,so many thanks for restart this project !! and like the guy above said, when i go to subbasement after defeat toad my game crash (i know ,i know ,you also mentioned on the post about the new build ,but you also mentioned that the game would "teleport me" automatically which didn't happen x.x)
PS:I'm so sorry for my bad English ,i hope you have understood xD

YOu have to save BEFORE to face Toad, when your game crashes, close it, and open again , load, and then, make sure you have Magma on your equip, defeat Toad, and tah-dahh! your game doesn't crash, and you could acces to X Mansion, but I don't know how to pass the Danger Room, my game crash when I try to do her missions.
Remember, ALWAYS, load and save, save and load. For now, it's the only way to advance through the game. My english sucks but I hope you'll understand me.

I still can't add Angel after what you told me. Also, I can't pass on when I finish beating Toad. How do I get Alison back on my team so I can continue to the sewer?

Other than that, it is a great build. Keep up the good work.
You need to put Magma in the last save point before face Toad. When your game crash, close it, open it again and load and defeat Toad, this time should not crash when you defeat Toad.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2014, 07:44pm by Shunshi »
AXM edition team:  :phoenix: :cyclops: :colossus:   :wolverine:


Offline Joosteh

  • Uncanny Member
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Upvotes 1
Re: OFFICIAL X-Men Legends PC progress topic
« Reply #123 on: September 01, 2014, 05:10am »
I can't get out the first time you visit the mansion :( Whenever I go to the ground floor prof X introduced me again. And Magma can't continue to the next mission because she hasn't finished her mission in the mansion yet.

Offline Clonest

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Upvotes 0
Re: OFFICIAL X-Men Legends PC progress topic
« Reply #124 on: September 01, 2014, 08:27am »
I can't get out the first time you visit the mansion :( Whenever I go to the ground floor prof X introduced me again. And Magma can't continue to the next mission because she hasn't finished her mission in the mansion yet.
I just mentioned a solution to this a page back, if you  want to her to join you on the first haarp mission, all you gotta do is talk to Xaiver to enter the subbasement level (AGAIN incase this has happened before)and select the keyboard with the green arrow over it to talk to "Forge" and after that select "talk to you later" then go down the hall, make sure to do all of Magma's Trainning missions including the Mystique and Blob fights, (it would seem the first city one is bugged and cannot be finished for now but completing the rest still unlocks the first  real mission of the game). After that go down the hallway to the x-tract point(the one in the subbasement level still) and swap her out for another character. Then go back into the room were you talked to "Forge" have a character press the button on that keyboard console with the green hologram of the earth on it. This should give you the option to "start the haarp faicility mission", and the next time you reach an x-tract point you can swap out any character you want for Magma in her X-men costume! Hope this helps. :D
« Last Edit: September 01, 2014, 08:39am by Clonest »

Offline Teancum

  • Admin
  • Ultimate Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 5865
  • Upvotes 78
Re: OFFICIAL X-Men Legends PC progress topic
« Reply #125 on: September 01, 2014, 12:13pm »
I can't get out the first time you visit the mansion :( Whenever I go to the ground floor prof X introduced me again. And Magma can't continue to the next mission because she hasn't finished her mission in the mansion yet.

To continue,

1-End the tour with Professor X
2-Talk to Forge over the radio
3-Go to the Extraction point and remove Magma
4-Start the mission
5-If you want Magma back, put her back in at the first Extraction point in the HAARP mission.

There's no need to do Magma's training... yet. Later if I actually get to complete the mod I will make it so you must complete her danger room missions. For now I probably won't be working on the mod for a while. I can't figure out why the game crashes, and if I can't fix that there's no point in continuing.

Offline Joosteh

  • Uncanny Member
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Upvotes 1
Re: OFFICIAL X-Men Legends PC progress topic
« Reply #126 on: September 01, 2014, 01:52pm »
Worked! Thanks guys :)

Offline BlueElf

  • Uncanny Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Upvotes 3
Re: OFFICIAL X-Men Legends PC progress topic
« Reply #127 on: September 01, 2014, 01:53pm »
To continue,

1-End the tour with Professor X
2-Talk to Forge over the radio
3-Go to the Extraction point and remove Magma
4-Start the mission
5-If you want Magma back, put her back in at the first Extraction point in the HAARP mission.

There's no need to do Magma's training... yet. Later if I actually get to complete the mod I will make it so you must complete her danger room missions. For now I probably won't be working on the mod for a while. I can't figure out why the game crashes, and if I can't fix that there's no point in continuing.

I really hope you reconsider that. The project doesn't have to be perfect per se just playable at best. Maybe if it was broken up in multiple programs? Anyway, it's your project so do what you will.

Anyway does anyone know how to continue after speaking Nightcrawler. Everytime I go to the subbasement the game crashes. I thought the sewer was partially playable. If not, I can just wait for the next build (if it will come).

Offline Teancum

  • Admin
  • Ultimate Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 5865
  • Upvotes 78
Re: OFFICIAL X-Men Legends PC progress topic
« Reply #128 on: September 01, 2014, 02:23pm »
I've got emails out to some acquaintances who know a lot more about debugging stuff like this, so I have a bit of hope still, but if it just keeps crashing at some point I'll get too frustrated to continue. Right now I'm still on fire since so much can be done in spite of the crashing, so that's good news. I've got another theory on how to clear out the "cache" so the game doesn't crash. It basically involves loading a bunch of teeny tiny levels all in a row so it flushes out the normal levels. The game 'remembers' the last 5-8 levels, so if I do that eight times in a row then we might get lucky. If I have to do that, I will. I'll just make the loadscreens look like there's a meter filling up to 100% with the words "CLEARING CACHE" above it. Gonna try it out this week.

In regards to not being able to get to the sewers, I originally had it set up so you skip the second mansion visit (since it was crashing). Looks like I accidentally put it back the way I had it without setting up the sewer missions again, so that will have to be in the next build.

EDIT: Nope. didn't work. I loaded 8 'dummy' levels and it didn't change a thing. In fact, it crashed sooner.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2014, 07:01pm by Teancum »

Offline Teancum

  • Admin
  • Ultimate Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 5865
  • Upvotes 78
Re: OFFICIAL X-Men Legends PC progress topic
« Reply #129 on: September 03, 2014, 04:09pm »
REMEMBER: If you change any of these things you will need to start a new game

For anyone wanting to try other levels in the game, here's what you do:

1) in your \X-Men Legends PC folder, double click on new_game.py-Shortcut
2) if Windows asks you what to open this file with, choose Notepad
3) Put a # symbol before these lines
Code: [Select]
startMovie("r102", "afterMovie")
waitsignal("afterMovie")
loadMapKeepTeam("nyc/alison/nyc1_1_1")
It should look like this
Code: [Select]
#startMovie("r102", "afterMovie")
#waitsignal("afterMovie")
#loadMapKeepTeam("nyc/alison/nyc1_1_1")
4) Next, remove the # symbol before the map you want to try. For example, if I want to try the sewer missions:
Code: [Select]
#SEWERS -- HUB
#loadMapChooseTeam("mocap/mocap3/mocap3") #cutscene
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_1_1")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_1_2")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_1_3")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_1_4")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewhub")  #working -- door won't open
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_2_1")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_2_3")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_2_4")  #working (Marrow boss fight #1)
becomes this (I removed it from the first loadMapChooseTeam()
Code: [Select]
#SEWERS -- HUB
loadMapChooseTeam("mocap/mocap3/mocap3") #cutscene
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_1_1")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_1_2")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_1_3")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_1_4")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewhub")  #working -- door won't open
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_2_1")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_2_3")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_2_4")  #working (Marrow boss fight #1)
5) start a new game

For anyone wanting to add their own characters, here's what you do:
1) open new_game.py-Shortcut as listed before
2) add a new line under unlockCharacter('spiderman',''), for example from this
Code: [Select]
unlockCharacter('beast_hero','')
unlockCharacter('cable','')
unlockCharacter('frost','')
unlockCharacter('jubilee','')
unlockCharacter('magma','')
unlockCharacter('professorx','')
unlockCharacter('psylocke','')
unlockCharacter('spiderman','')
to this -- we'll add angel under spiderman (using his name from the herostat)
Code: [Select]
unlockCharacter('beast_hero','')
unlockCharacter('cable','')
unlockCharacter('frost','')
unlockCharacter('jubilee','')
unlockCharacter('magma','')
unlockCharacter('professorx','')
unlockCharacter('psylocke','')
unlockCharacter('spiderman','')
unlockCharacter('angel_hero','')
3) start a new game
« Last Edit: September 03, 2014, 04:59pm by Teancum »

Offline BlueElf

  • Uncanny Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Upvotes 3
Re: OFFICIAL X-Men Legends PC progress topic
« Reply #130 on: September 04, 2014, 10:15pm »
REMEMBER: If you change any of these things you will need to start a new game

For anyone wanting to try other levels in the game, here's what you do:

1) in your \X-Men Legends PC folder, double click on new_game.py-Shortcut
2) if Windows asks you what to open this file with, choose Notepad
3) Put a # symbol before these lines
Code: [Select]
startMovie("r102", "afterMovie")
waitsignal("afterMovie")
loadMapKeepTeam("nyc/alison/nyc1_1_1")
It should look like this
Code: [Select]
#startMovie("r102", "afterMovie")
#waitsignal("afterMovie")
#loadMapKeepTeam("nyc/alison/nyc1_1_1")
4) Next, remove the # symbol before the map you want to try. For example, if I want to try the sewer missions:
Code: [Select]
#SEWERS -- HUB
#loadMapChooseTeam("mocap/mocap3/mocap3") #cutscene
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_1_1")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_1_2")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_1_3")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_1_4")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewhub")  #working -- door won't open
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_2_1")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_2_3")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_2_4")  #working (Marrow boss fight #1)
becomes this (I removed it from the first loadMapChooseTeam()
Code: [Select]
#SEWERS -- HUB
loadMapChooseTeam("mocap/mocap3/mocap3") #cutscene
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_1_1")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_1_2")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_1_3")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_1_4")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewhub")  #working -- door won't open
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_2_1")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_2_3")  #working
#loadMapChooseTeam("sewers/hub/sewers1_2_4")  #working (Marrow boss fight #1)
5) start a new game

For anyone wanting to add their own characters, here's what you do:
1) open new_game.py-Shortcut as listed before
2) add a new line under unlockCharacter('spiderman',''), for example from this
Code: [Select]
unlockCharacter('beast_hero','')
unlockCharacter('cable','')
unlockCharacter('frost','')
unlockCharacter('jubilee','')
unlockCharacter('magma','')
unlockCharacter('professorx','')
unlockCharacter('psylocke','')
unlockCharacter('spiderman','')
to this -- we'll add angel under spiderman (using his name from the herostat)
Code: [Select]
unlockCharacter('beast_hero','')
unlockCharacter('cable','')
unlockCharacter('frost','')
unlockCharacter('jubilee','')
unlockCharacter('magma','')
unlockCharacter('professorx','')
unlockCharacter('psylocke','')
unlockCharacter('spiderman','')
unlockCharacter('angel_hero','')
3) start a new game

Thanks I'm going to try it.

Offline Teancum

  • Admin
  • Ultimate Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 5865
  • Upvotes 78
Re: OFFICIAL X-Men Legends PC progress topic
« Reply #131 on: September 06, 2014, 07:50pm »
OKAY, SERIOUS QUESTION TIME: Let's say (theoretically) that I never fix the bug that makes the game crash, but as long as you save at every checkpoint you can load the game again and continue on, repeating the process until you finish the whole campaign. Would you guys be OK with that? I've tried several things, but the game just runs out of memory after 5-8 levels (which is why it crashes). If nobody has a real problem with that then I guess I won't either.

Offline Techon 7

  • Marvel Modder
  • Incredible Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 501
  • Upvotes 18
Re: OFFICIAL X-Men Legends PC progress topic
« Reply #132 on: September 06, 2014, 07:55pm »
OKAY, SERIOUS QUESTION TIME: Let's say (theoretically) that I never fix the bug that makes the game crash, but as long as you save at every checkpoint you can load the game again and continue on, repeating the process until you finish the whole campaign. Would you guys be OK with that? I've tried several things, but the game just runs out of memory after 5-8 levels (which is why it crashes). If nobody has a real problem with that then I guess I won't either.
I wouldn't have a problem with it. I might actually finish XML finally.
By the way, may I send you a PM, I'd like to speak with you about something.

Offline Polygone

  • Marvel Modder
  • Incredible Member
  • **********
  • Posts: 1981
  • Upvotes 90
  • Build Heaven on the back of Hell
Re: OFFICIAL X-Men Legends PC progress topic
« Reply #133 on: September 07, 2014, 04:17am »
I save at every checkpoint anyway, so no problemo
My Release topic : http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php/topic,8934.0.html

Newest Release : Raven

Offline Teancum

  • Admin
  • Ultimate Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 5865
  • Upvotes 78
Re: OFFICIAL X-Men Legends PC progress topic
« Reply #134 on: September 09, 2014, 08:36am »
Wow. That's a ton of info to sort through! I'll see what I can find with that. In the meantime I've found XML2 has a lot of precache instances in .ENGB files. Like a TON. I can only assume they had memory issues while working on the game and so forced as much to precache as possible. Might be useful. I'm not sure. I documented all the precache types I could find but am taking a break for a few weeks to work on a mod for a different game. I'm also hoping to hear back from some of the emails I sent out for help from ex-devs and game modders that are great at hacking/reverse engineering.