Author Topic: Old XML1 level conversion thread  (Read 14371 times)

Offline nodoubt_jr

  • Admin
  • Invincible Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4935
  • Likes: 82
  • No Doubter
Re: The OFFICIAL XML1 level conversion thread
« Reply #30 on: August 14, 2007, 01:23pm »
Move the start_game line in zoneinfo to the section for the new level to test.

could you explain this a little bit more, i cant get it to work, but im probably doing it wrong
Please search the forum before asking a question. I dont answer
PMs about modding, those questions should be posted in a public thread.
What im currently working on: http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php?topic=2275.0
My mods are mine to booster/update, I will not give anybody permission to do it

Offline BliZZ

  • Moderator
  • Invincible Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3435
  • Likes: 9
Re: The OFFICIAL XML1 level conversion thread
« Reply #31 on: August 14, 2007, 01:26pm »
Sorry, I am thinking MUA. In XML2, edit new_game.py in scripts/menus. To keep XML2 working, edit your XML1 .exe to load new_xml1.py and use that.

Offline nodoubt_jr

  • Admin
  • Invincible Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4935
  • Likes: 82
  • No Doubter
Re: The OFFICIAL XML1 level conversion thread
« Reply #32 on: August 14, 2007, 02:24pm »
thanks, it worked and it launch, but it freezes right away, lol



then after i played around with the script, getting rid of camera angels, it starts at a different angle but no one moves, all just do their idle positions and then go into idle bored.



lol, i should just stick to arenas.  i'll go through everything im sure its a mistake on my part.

edit: could it be that he is waiting for beast, jean, and cyclops to startup the conversation before the fight? i'll see if i can change the characters that start the fight.

edit2: nope not it, i had all of them on my team and it still froze.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2007, 02:42pm by nodoubt_jr »
Please search the forum before asking a question. I dont answer
PMs about modding, those questions should be posted in a public thread.
What im currently working on: http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php?topic=2275.0
My mods are mine to booster/update, I will not give anybody permission to do it

Offline Teancum

  • Admin
  • Invincible Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5769
  • Likes: 54
Re: The OFFICIAL XML1 level conversion thread
« Reply #33 on: August 14, 2007, 03:01pm »
That's it actually, nothing will start without the conversation.  Ig you up the files I'll fix it up.

Offline nodoubt_jr

  • Admin
  • Invincible Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4935
  • Likes: 82
  • No Doubter
Re: The OFFICIAL XML1 level conversion thread
« Reply #34 on: August 14, 2007, 03:17pm »
ok here is everything ive done for this level.  Juggernaut is currently called Juggernaut_Boss, i will change to JuggernautFlashback after everything is fixed.  I changed the name in everything from juggernautflashback to juggernaut_boss, maybe i missed something.

Jugg Flasback Testing Version
*link removed, will up the Look at me I'm trying to advertise so ban me now when im done*
« Last Edit: August 20, 2007, 01:45pm by nodoubt_jr »
Please search the forum before asking a question. I dont answer
PMs about modding, those questions should be posted in a public thread.
What im currently working on: http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php?topic=2275.0
My mods are mine to booster/update, I will not give anybody permission to do it

Offline nodoubt_jr

  • Admin
  • Invincible Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4935
  • Likes: 82
  • No Doubter
Re: The OFFICIAL XML1 level conversion thread
« Reply #35 on: August 14, 2007, 04:43pm »
fixed XML1 powerstyle
http://www.momoshare.com/file.php?file=ce767a477d5f601ec4064a652cc8fec7
(direct powerstyle conversions of Boss Havok and Boss Magneto, with original names.  and colored Havok effects)

full npc here just replace old powersyles and effects if you are going to use them in these converted levels
http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php?topic=563.0
Please search the forum before asking a question. I dont answer
PMs about modding, those questions should be posted in a public thread.
What im currently working on: http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php?topic=2275.0
My mods are mine to booster/update, I will not give anybody permission to do it

Offline Teancum

  • Admin
  • Invincible Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5769
  • Likes: 54
Re: The OFFICIAL XML1 level conversion thread
« Reply #36 on: August 14, 2007, 06:01pm »
Gimmie a couple'a days.  I have to re-download MUAPC (had to reformat my D: drive).  Yeah, it's warez, but I use it to mod the Xbox version + add to the PC stuff.

Offline nodoubt_jr

  • Admin
  • Invincible Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4935
  • Likes: 82
  • No Doubter
Re: The OFFICIAL XML1 level conversion thread
« Reply #37 on: August 14, 2007, 06:05pm »
no problem, its no big hurry
Please search the forum before asking a question. I dont answer
PMs about modding, those questions should be posted in a public thread.
What im currently working on: http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php?topic=2275.0
My mods are mine to booster/update, I will not give anybody permission to do it

Offline Norrin Radd

  • Marvel Modder
  • Invincible Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2279
  • Likes: 9
Re: The OFFICIAL XML1 level conversion thread
« Reply #38 on: August 20, 2007, 11:40am »
are we keeping all the 'danger room' disks and changing them to sim disks for mua? or are we just droping them?

side note:
blizz, what are you planning for xml2->mua, are you keeping the disks or taking them out of the levels?

just so i know if i should remove them from the levels or not
« Last Edit: August 20, 2007, 11:46am by Norrin Radd »

Offline BliZZ

  • Moderator
  • Invincible Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3435
  • Likes: 9
Re: The OFFICIAL XML1 level conversion thread
« Reply #39 on: August 20, 2007, 11:55am »
We need to find out how many possible discs there are (count the # in the simulator window), and then distribute them out. I guess we could fill some of the extra slots with action figures, stat points, etc.

Offline nodoubt_jr

  • Admin
  • Invincible Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4935
  • Likes: 82
  • No Doubter
Re: The OFFICIAL XML1 level conversion thread
« Reply #40 on: August 20, 2007, 01:05pm »
Gimmie a couple'a days.  I have to re-download MUAPC (had to reformat my D: drive).  Yeah, it's warez, but I use it to mod the Xbox version + add to the PC stuff.

no need to look at it anymore, i found the problem.  First the script didnt say to start of the conversation after it had run, and the conversations were not in the right format.  Now it runs, there is still some weirdness (the camera goes crazy, Juggernaut dies right away, and theres a weird green energy bar).  But at least now it runs.
Please search the forum before asking a question. I dont answer
PMs about modding, those questions should be posted in a public thread.
What im currently working on: http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php?topic=2275.0
My mods are mine to booster/update, I will not give anybody permission to do it

Offline Teancum

  • Admin
  • Invincible Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5769
  • Likes: 54
Re: The OFFICIAL XML1 level conversion thread
« Reply #41 on: August 20, 2007, 02:27pm »
We need to find out how many possible discs there are (count the # in the simulator window), and then distribute them out. I guess we could fill some of the extra slots with action figures, stat points, etc.

Oooh, I like the idea of using action figures to unlock a few characters. :D

Offline BliZZ

  • Moderator
  • Invincible Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3435
  • Likes: 9
Re: The OFFICIAL XML1 level conversion thread
« Reply #42 on: August 20, 2007, 02:59pm »
Well, I counted and there appear to be 35 possible missions. So, we need to break that down amongst the games.

Offline Norrin Radd

  • Marvel Modder
  • Invincible Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2279
  • Likes: 9
Re: The OFFICIAL XML1 level conversion thread
« Reply #43 on: August 22, 2007, 08:11pm »
an update on my xml1 level conversion:

i'm having a camera issue, i can get the level to load fine without conversations or level scripts:


but when i include the conversations and scripts, for some reason i have to change the enemy's instantspawn from false to true or else no conversation will start. when i do change it to true the conversation starts, but then the camera freezes on the enemy and the only way i can exit is ctrl+alt+del
This is where it freezes:


the problem is most likely in the scripts and conversation but this is getting annoying. too bad these levels dont convert smoothly. To get the sentinels arms to appear i also had to remove some lines from his ncpstat entry. I guess his arms are suppose to detach when they die but for me they never showed up, so i removed the 'hideskin' portion. His effects are somewhat messed up too, i wont focus on fixing them, but its pretty funny to watch.

also, i replaced all specificly named characters in the conversation files to say %PLAYER%

btw i am working on act1/fb/nyc1.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2007, 08:18pm by Norrin Radd »

Offline nodoubt_jr

  • Admin
  • Invincible Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4935
  • Likes: 82
  • No Doubter
Re: The OFFICIAL XML1 level conversion thread
« Reply #44 on: August 22, 2007, 08:37pm »
ok to get his hands to detached at death you need to set up the deatheffect in the powerstyle, not the npcstat. 

I had that same freezing problem with the level i converted, the level would start and just freeze.  The problem is in the script, they reference the conversations differently for example they may say startcoversation("act1/fb/nyc") or something like that, and you need to change it to starconversation(new directory).  Cause if not the py script looks for the conversation in a non existing place.  After this, the level would load (i still have some issues, but at least it starts now).

edit: just go through the level scripts, they all reference the wrong place now.  I had to change it so it reference the right conversations and for dialogs.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2007, 08:39pm by nodoubt_jr »
Please search the forum before asking a question. I dont answer
PMs about modding, those questions should be posted in a public thread.
What im currently working on: http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php?topic=2275.0
My mods are mine to booster/update, I will not give anybody permission to do it