Marvel Mods

X-Men Legends I & II => Mod Releases and Conversions => Misc. Modifications => Topic started by: Norrin Radd on August 28, 2007, 09:03pm

Title: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Norrin Radd on August 28, 2007, 09:03pm
HeroSelectXML2 by Norrin Radd RELEASE V1.2

This program has a graphical user interface and allows you to choose which characters/mods you want to play with.
For instructions please see the pdf file contained in the download. I have tried to make the instructions as clear as possible in the pdf, and will not repeat them all in this thread. If you have any questions please ask.

Version 1.2 *international language support* New!
Download Here (http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?2zinuvtwmtz)

Version 1.0 *default team = 21 characters*
Download Here (http://www.marvelmods.com/ftp_users/NorrinR/programs/HeroSelectXML2_V1.0.zip)

Notes for V1.0
There is a small problem where the game may not launch from HeroSelectXML2. I may fix this in future versions.
You need to add a character to use the default team correctly

See a screenshot of the program below
(http://xs218.xs.to/xs218/07353/heroselectxml2.JPG.xs.jpg) (http://xs.to/xs.php?h=xs218&d=07353&f=heroselectxml2.JPG)


---original first post---
Hi xml2 gamers, just letting you know that i will be making a xml2 version of heroselect.
i have successfully made CharacterSelect for xml2, and now just need to make HeroSelect, which is the graphical user interface that tells CharacterSelect which characters you want in the game. For more info on what HeroSelect is, see my HeroSelect thread in the MUA forums
http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php?topic=732.0

I have made it so the default and maximum teams will be 21 characters in total. If this is wrong, please correct me.

edit:
ok, i think i got the gui working, so i will just need to fix a few bugs and re-write the pdf, then it will be ready for release (maybe in a few days)
it seems there is a glitch where the game doesnt run/launch from the hero selector, not sure if i'll be able to get this to work or not, it worked fine for mua. it may just be a problem that i am experiencing and others wont face this.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 (comming soon)
Post by: nodoubt_jr on August 28, 2007, 11:18pm
awesome, cant wait :)
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.0 RELEASED
Post by: Norrin Radd on August 29, 2007, 03:12pm
the program has now been released, hope you enjoy
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.0 RELEASED
Post by: thetommyboy2002 on August 29, 2007, 03:15pm
Thank You.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.0 RELEASED
Post by: nodoubt_jr on August 29, 2007, 03:34pm
thanks :)
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.0 RELEASED
Post by: jonchang on August 29, 2007, 06:43pm
Great work! Your modding tools have made the modder's life much easier.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.0 RELEASED
Post by: ratmon on September 18, 2007, 11:55am
everytime I click on accept team it says error file not found why?
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.0 RELEASED
Post by: Norrin Radd on September 18, 2007, 12:04pm
perhaps it is looking for herostat.cfg, or herostat.engb
i dont have the program with me at the moment, but you could try to verify that the path in herostat.cfg is the path for your herostat.engb

edit: when it says error file not found can you print some of the other things that are said right before that or right after that, if any. also, could you see if there is a name on the blue bar that says what is the program that is running? is it the dos screen that says file not found or the graphical user interface?
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.0 RELEASED
Post by: ppm on March 03, 2008, 09:51am
For me mods for xml2 are only working if I recompile the changed herostat.xml not only to herostat.engb but also to herostat.xmlb and to herostat.gerb. Is there any way to let the program do that, too? I've already tried ur program for MUA and it's just great work and exactly what I was looking for for a longer time!
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.0 RELEASED
Post by: Norrin Radd on March 03, 2008, 10:09am
Yeah there is a way to do it, I would just need the program to write to herostat.gerb (this one should be looked at before xmlb). Thanks for the feedback.

I can look at changing it, but first can you check if you only need to change .gerb and not .xmlb ?

Also note that you can still use the program, just after you run it, copy the file herostat.engb to herostat.gerb
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Norrin Radd on March 04, 2008, 12:21am
Version 1.2 released (see first post)

Added international language support:
-copies of xmlb, itab, freb, and gerb are made when team is selected. These files are replicas of the engb file compiled.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: ppm on March 04, 2008, 08:33am
THX very much! I'll try! Just a question: Do the endings engb, gerb, itab and freb have something to do with the languages? And what does the "b" in all endings stand for? Okay I've seen it.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: John Sage on November 29, 2008, 05:13pm
Does anyone use this?  Any recommendations?
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Power Cosmic on November 29, 2008, 07:08pm
Wait the minute. It still 27 Characters. I bet there is 2 more Characters to add, after choosing original 25 characters.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Norrin Radd on November 29, 2008, 11:03pm
XML2 only supports 21 characters...
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Power Cosmic on November 30, 2008, 12:16am
Ok let me see the list of XML2 Chars:
Bishop
Colossus
Cyclops
Deadpool
Gambit
Iceman
Juggernaut
Magneto
Nightcrawler
Jean Grey
Professor X
Pyro
Rogue
Sabretooth
Scarlet Witch
Storm
Sunfire
Toad
Wolverine

So it just one more character then.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: jonchang on November 30, 2008, 02:45am
Yes.

Remember, this is XML2, not MUA. ;)
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: KittyXColossus on November 30, 2008, 01:26pm
I used this, added a character and it still doesn't work. I even have been trying the recompiling/compiling way and nothing!!!! HELP!!
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: LX - Rampage on November 30, 2008, 01:32pm
Well, this is strange. Are you sure, that you did it right? There was a hundred topics about adding modded characters, check them out :)
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: KittyXColossus on November 30, 2008, 01:41pm
Yea. I followed the steps in the Read Me that came with it. But I did only put in one character, just to see if it works. I'll try it again.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: LX - Rampage on November 30, 2008, 01:42pm
OK (did you do that unlocking thingy in newgame.py ? That was my problem with adding a character :D )
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: KittyXColossus on November 30, 2008, 01:52pm
The unlocking character cheat? I knew there was one but It won't enter right, I mean the game won't recognize it. Can you tell me the cheat or whatever you did to unlock all characters because it might be that for me too.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: LX - Rampage on November 30, 2008, 01:55pm
Well, check out the "Newbie Question" topic (type it in search). Read it and you will know, what to do :D :D (I hope I can help you)
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: shadownall on February 08, 2009, 04:44am
Could someone reupload this?  The link seems to be dead.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: DiamondPheonix on February 11, 2009, 07:24am
yea cuz the link is dead i kinda want to know to do this sort of stuff
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Norrin Radd on February 11, 2009, 08:24pm
I'll try to upload it in the next week or so.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: DiamondPheonix on February 11, 2009, 08:46pm
okay, thank you so much
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Norrin Radd on February 14, 2009, 09:04am
Sorry about the wait, here it is:
Version 1.2 *international language support* New!
Download Here (http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?2zinuvtwmtz)
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: DiamondPheonix on February 14, 2009, 09:10am
Omg, Norrin Radd ty so much!!! :thumbsup2: :wiggle: :thumbsup2:
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: DiamondPheonix on February 14, 2009, 10:44am
wait, what does herostatxml2.cfg Name mean?
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Norrin Radd on February 14, 2009, 03:46pm
The name used in the cfg file to identify a character, like for example, here the cfg name is bill:

Quote
bill
   stat{
   name = Billy Bob ;
   }
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: DiamondPheonix on February 14, 2009, 06:55pm
do i have to put all this in or is it as simple as just putting the characters name down?
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Norrin Radd on February 14, 2009, 10:41pm
I'm not sure what you mean. Are you following the instructions in the pdf? If so, which step are you stuck at.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: DiamondPheonix on February 14, 2009, 11:53pm
omg, i am so sorry, i didnt know that there were steps.  i apoligiez for troubling you with this matter.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Norrin Radd on February 15, 2009, 12:02am
No problem
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: x man on April 14, 2009, 06:31pm
Hey new guy here but I've tried downloading the new heroselect file but when I do it's under note pad and is just numbers and symbols typed on a page. Any idea how to get the actual program/file? Please reply need help!!!!
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Norrin Radd on April 14, 2009, 08:13pm
You need winrar or a different program to extract the files from the compressed rar file
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: x man on April 15, 2009, 02:23pm
How do I do that? Just checked out winrar are there any other programs that don't cost me because I think winrar does. If there isn't could you please tell me how to get it from notepad into the program. I tried sending it to a zipped/compressed folder but that just sent it inside it keeping it as notepad. Thanks
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Norrin Radd on April 15, 2009, 06:57pm
I'm pretty sure winrar is free, you will need winrar or other rar extracting program to uncompress most of the mods on this site, so it is a good idea to try to find one
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Venom on April 15, 2009, 09:06pm
Yeah it is , it says its a trial but it doesnt expire or lose it features so you can continue using it.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: x man on April 16, 2009, 05:47pm
Okay thanks so do I just download
never mind just downloade so how do I  "decompress it"
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Venom on April 16, 2009, 07:04pm
Right click and use one of the "extract" options.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: x man on April 17, 2009, 07:05pm
yeah okay tahnks I downloaded yay i finally/kinda get it now but i just don't get how to put the character for character select in.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Venom on April 17, 2009, 08:29pm
You should read the PDF the comes with heroselect on how to install characters.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: x man on April 17, 2009, 08:39pm
Oh yeah forgot abouth that thanks
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: x man on April 19, 2009, 09:20am
ok i'm confused i have 2 new characters (dust and polaris) in the herostat and the heroselect and after i use the custom option and choose about 19 characters for my team and click accept team then i click run xml2. but it won't run and i know that you said that it won't work on some computers so how do i get it to work.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Norrin Radd on April 19, 2009, 10:02am
After you click accept, instead of clicking run you can start the game as you normally would by double clicking the xml2 icon on the desktop for example
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: x man on April 19, 2009, 05:09pm
but i don't close heroselect right? ok never mind but now i have a new problem. When I open up the game Dust and Polaris are in the roster but when i click on them they don't appear on a platform but there name is on the side of the screen to show they're on my team. After i click enter or the skin button it exits out of the program and leaves heroselect. Please help me once and for all lol. :polaris: :dust:
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Norrin Radd on April 19, 2009, 10:41pm
You can close Heroselect after you have clicked accept (so you can close it before running the game)
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: x man on April 20, 2009, 02:13pm
Okay, thanks a lot.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: x man on April 20, 2009, 02:27pm
Still no picture and when I do click on them it kicks me out. That is if i can even get in the game because now when i get to the menu i click load game and keeps coming asking me new game, load game, danger room, etc. I know i'm probably bugging you but i'm just really confused. If you could just tell me how to get their picture and be able to see them on their platform and why it keeps kicking me out of the game then I'll be really happy. Thanks a lot.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: x man on April 25, 2009, 10:51am
Hello can anyone help me please
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Norrin Radd on April 25, 2009, 02:56pm
I'm not really sure what your problem is, but from what I can tell I don't think it is related to Heroselect. You may want to open a new thread asking for help.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: x man on April 25, 2009, 06:59pm
ok thanks anyways
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: blackpanther2009 on April 28, 2009, 02:12am
with this mod, do you still have to de-compile/compile a mod first
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Venom on April 28, 2009, 05:04pm
No , you  just have to enter the characters herostat in the herostat.cfg (Opened with notepad or any other text file editor) much easier and faster.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: blackpanther2009 on April 29, 2009, 11:31am
thanks
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: havok83 on April 29, 2009, 08:15pm
I have a problem. Everytime I assemble my team, I go to Launch the game and it says File Not Found. Is there any place special Im supposed to put this program?
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: Norrin Radd on April 30, 2009, 05:34am
From the first post:

Notes for V1.0
There is a small problem where the game may not launch from HeroSelectXML2. I may fix this in future versions.
You need to add a character to use the default team correctly

...

it seems there is a glitch where the game doesnt run/launch from the hero selector, not sure if i'll be able to get this to work or not, it worked fine for mua. it may just be a problem that i am experiencing and others wont face this.

Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: blackpanther2009 on April 30, 2009, 09:17pm
my problem for this mod is that i can't get the mods i downloaded to show up in game. i'm pretty sure i followed the directions well enough
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: jacobprater1983 on June 29, 2010, 03:18pm
I'm going to try this out. If it works, you are GOD. Thanks in advance, I'm betting it's as good as the MUA Heroselect, which soooooo rocks.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: jacobprater1983 on July 07, 2010, 01:57pm
Could you guys update the hero select to "auto unlock" any added characters? I'm having difficulty getting all of the character slots to be available. Currently, I can't get the 21rst to unlock, I was able to add the Beast and Psylocke, and the "hidden" characters. After I tried to add Cable it all went bad.

I have tried numerous "unlock all character codes" to no avail. Thank you.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: sorrynameused on June 22, 2012, 08:51pm
the website to download nba2kstuff’s xmlb-compile v2.2 (non-ui) from has expired, can someone upload the file somewhere?
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: AveCaesar on July 08, 2012, 12:07am
There is a new link for the decompiling tool http://www.mediafire.com/?2s949t38aidelcd (http://www.mediafire.com/?2s949t38aidelcd).However I cannot finf the link for the non-ui,so you still have to install characters manually :bawling:
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: sorrynameused on July 11, 2012, 07:59pm
that's too bad, since i have noooooo idea how to do that! but thanks for the reply, glad to know someone's alive in this forum :L

i don't suppose anyone could just re-upload the non-ui file though? it'd be a great help! plus i would actually start playing the game if i could just have all the characters i wanted :L
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: AveCaesar on July 13, 2012, 11:03am
If you want I can send you detailed instructions on how to manually install new characters. ;)
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: sorrynameused on August 19, 2012, 02:14am
that would actually be a great help! i still have the game installed in case i decided to go about learning how to manually install :L
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: jacobprater1983 on July 09, 2013, 04:32pm
I'm having problems with heroselect after reinstalling. X-Men Legends 2. It will not change any roster member. Do I need to reinstall my OS as well? I'm sure I'm adding the characters correctly, I have done this on XML2 and MUA numerous times before.
Title: Re: HeroSelectXML2 V1.2 RELEASED (international language support)
Post by: cyberhawk777 on November 08, 2013, 11:12pm
I'm having the same problem as the others.  Heroselect doesn't seem to be working, to the point where even clicking accept and then starting the game normally isn't working.   I've tried this, in addition to ensuring that both heroselect and herostatxml2.cfg point to the correct file location and deleting the settings.dat file created under My Documents.  It would be great to finally be able to add some characters to the game, but I'm not sure how to work around this problem and any help would be appreciated.

BTW, sorry to necropost, but jacobprater already had a thread in the technical issues section that hadn't been answered and I figured I'd get in less trouble doing this than starting another thread.

EDIT: I was just looking at the files.  If it wasn't for some getting this to work successfully, I'd think the problem was the presence of "xml2" in herostat (herostatxml2.cfg) and the references to it in heroselect. 

Looking at it more, I just noticed that, unlike your MUA heroselect (which is very well-made), this one isn't updating any of the files under the data folder.  passvalues.hero is being populated, but the selected character information isn't making it to the data files, leading me to believe the specific segment of your code dealing with this is the problem.

EDIT: disgaea and I finally got everything to work correctly.  If anyone's curious, check out the topic below.

http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php/topic,9034.0.html