Marvel Mods

Marvel Ultimate Alliance I & II => Mod Releases and Conversions => Misc. Modifications => Topic started by: Lord Frankie on July 05, 2008, 01:22pm

Title: Our New FX Textures
Post by: Lord Frankie on July 05, 2008, 01:22pm
ok i decided to open a topic where everyone can post the textures he created for effects.

well, i've actually never seen anyone talking about custom textures here, but i have made some.
Actually many are useless, so i'll just start posting this one

i made this for a new bamf for nightcrawler i'm making. I found out that it looks very good also for energy-smoke effects, like the smoke that comes out of Doom's hands in the cinematics.


(don't download the pic but the already complete igb file)
(http://xs229.xs.to/xs229/08276/bamfus673.png) (http://xs.to)
DOWNLOAD:http://www.mediafire.com/?fyjmes6xueh (http://www.mediafire.com/?fyjmes6xueh)
Alpha blend mode available
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: the amazing spiderman on July 05, 2008, 08:24pm
wow, that looks cool. i wish i had something to share but i havnt start modding yet,this computer cant even run MUA:(....
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: matezoide on July 06, 2008, 07:15am
cool,thanks for the FX texture magneto.
and spiderman,i did not know you was going to mod too,do you have a project?or something?
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: Grig 32 on July 06, 2008, 07:51am
Personally, I wish someone would make a more 'comic-ish' Cyclops eyebeam... the current one looks like he's firing a splurt of koolaid out of his head rather than a beam of solid energy :P the one in XL-2 was a better job and it was pink for cryin in mud lol
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: matezoide on July 06, 2008, 08:03am
that would be great,grig
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: matezoide on July 06, 2008, 08:15am
damn,i cant put it on game,what i have to add in herostat?
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: Grig 32 on July 06, 2008, 08:17am
Ah well you know game devs.. if it looks stupid or lacks relative depth then its GOTTA be in the game :P
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: the amazing spiderman on July 06, 2008, 11:24am
lol...no projects, except for trying to get some video tutorials so more people can learn how to mod, till the end of summer...
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: Lord Frankie on July 06, 2008, 01:15pm
topic about textures. this is random discussion. cheers ^_^
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: the amazing spiderman on July 06, 2008, 02:16pm
sry, my fault :(
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: Grig 32 on July 06, 2008, 02:25pm
I was talking about a texture - cyclops' Eyebeam namely
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: Lord Frankie on July 06, 2008, 02:34pm
dont worry ^_^ wait a minute maybe i misunderstood what you were saying  ...my bad

wait i was thinking, if someone posts a new texture, i'll put it in the first post.



damn,i cant put it on game,what i have to add in herostat?


uh?
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: iammingy on July 06, 2008, 02:42pm
uh?

He doesn't know how to install it.

Shouldn't the name of the texture be called "bamf_03.igb" instead of "BAMF3.igb"?
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: the amazing spiderman on July 06, 2008, 02:47pm
how did u make the bamf effect? i wouldnt be able to get it to be all misty
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: Lord Frankie on July 06, 2008, 02:51pm
Well it's how I have called my new texture. could be any other name.
I uploaded it so that if someone wishes to edit/makenew effects, there's a new texture.
Sure, if you want to replace an old texture with this, you should rename it. But replacing isnt always enough, you'll probably need to edit the size and the quantity

ah Nightcrawler in MUA uses mainly two textures called wispysmoke1 and wispysmoke2
but if you replace 'em with mine, it will be a little messy.

i'm gonna upload a custom Bamf effect for which i used this texture
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: iammingy on July 06, 2008, 05:03pm
Well it's how I have called my new texture. could be any other name.
I uploaded it so that if someone wishes to edit/makenew effects, there's a new texture.
Sure, if you want to replace an old texture with this, you should rename it. But replacing isnt always enough, you'll probably need to edit the size and the quantity

Never mind then. You should just release the effects as most of the people here don't mod the game.
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: Grig 32 on July 06, 2008, 06:48pm
and a lot of those that do (such as myself)don't have a graphics program :(
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: iammingy on July 06, 2008, 08:55pm
and a lot of those that do (such as myself)don't have a graphics program :(

You don't need graphics programs of any kind to make effects... What I wanted to say was less than 5 percent of the community actually mod the game and release mods, let alone finding people who can (and willing to) make good use of these custom textures. Since Magneto made the effects already, it would be better if he just release the effects and the texture together instead.
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: Lord Frankie on July 07, 2008, 12:32pm
ok ok... well i'll release also the textures anyway... someone someday might find them useful....

anyhow here's the NightCrawler new bamf effect http://www.mediafire.com/?r1vmgow1y1v (http://www.mediafire.com/?r1vmgow1y1v)
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: Grig 32 on July 07, 2008, 11:20pm
Don't you need a graphics editor to make a new texture?
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: Lord Frankie on July 08, 2008, 12:30pm
i use Gimp
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: the amazing spiderman on July 08, 2008, 08:59pm
me too!(but for my character icons)
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: iammingy on July 08, 2008, 09:14pm
Don't you need a graphics editor to make a new texture?

Yes, you do... I was talking about making the effects using Magneto's texture...
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: the amazing spiderman on July 09, 2008, 12:42am
for the cyclops beam thing...all i would have to do is make a red beam right? or would it need  multiple frames?
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: Lord Frankie on July 09, 2008, 12:20pm
sorry guys--- have you ever tried editing an effect?

well, just for those who don't know it, this is what an effect entry looks like

Quote
   ParticleCloud {
   acceleration = 0 0 0 0 0 0 ;
   alpha = -6 6 0 -6 6 0 1 -10000 ;
   blend = alpha ;
   count = 0.5 0.5 ;
   delay = 0 0 ;
   drag = 6 6 ;
   endcolor1 = 16777215 ;
   endcolor2 = 16777215 ;
   gravity = 0 0 ;
   height = 0 0 ;
   interval = 0
   life = 4 4 ;
   midcolor1 = 16777215 ;
   midcolor2 = 16777215 ;
   name = smokecdolorMAIN ;
   numsegments = 1 ;
   orient = forward ;
   origin = 0 0 30 0 0 30 ;
   plifescale = 2 ;
   primitiveflags = 0 ;
   radius = 5 5 ;
   radius2 = 5 5 ;
   rotation = 0 1 10 0 0 6.283 ;
   size = -30 30 50 -30 30 50 ;
   spawnflags = 104 ;   
   startcolor1 = 16777215 ;
   startcolor2 = 16777215 ;
   texture = textures/nextgen/BAMF3.png ;
   transformrotation = 0 0 0 0 0 0 ;
   velocity = 5 0 0 25 0 0 ;
   viewoffset = 0 ;
   }

this creates a puff of smoke, a "particle cloud", using
Quote
texture = textures/nextgen/BAMF3.png ;
, which means that texture that i posted above.
Quote
endcolor
midcolor
startcolor
determine the effects' color.

then there's size, velocity, life etc... you just need to edit this stuff, nothing more.

there are no animated textures in the game. so, no multiple frames (if that's what u intended)

for Cyclops' beam, exactly what do you want to change in it?
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: Grig 32 on July 09, 2008, 02:56pm
I don't know... it just looks stupid *shrug* its like the beam itself has no depth or something - like there's a cloud coming out of his head rather than a beam of solid energy
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: the amazing spiderman on July 09, 2008, 08:08pm
oh, ok thx magnteo...i dont actualy have any of the game's files onthis computer so i guess i cant do it untill the end of summer...unless ,grig, u could go throught the files and find and find the ones that make it "cloudish", send them to me, then i could edit, see what u thought,change/make better, and then post here:)
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: Tetragene on August 05, 2008, 01:18pm
I've been reading through the thread and I'm interested in attempting to create new power effects for The Dazzler Mod 3.0 (I've finally started working on it again ;-) ).  Pardon my ignorance, but if I wanted to say--make a "spark" power effect then I could just take one of the existing "sparks" (like say the "glitter" looking things on one of the Jubilee powers), copy it, rename it, create a .png effect with an alpha channel for transparencies, then place it in the correct directory and change the name of the effect in the newly named file with a hex editor and that's it?  I hope someone was able to follow that.  But basically it'd just involve creating .pngs with an alpha channel and then hex-editing an existing .igb power that leads to the texture you created as opposed to one included with the game?  I used to mod for Freedom Force as well so I get a little bit of the gist of the power/fx editing even though it's pretty different between the games.  So am I in the right ballpark with this? lol
Title: Re: Our New FX Textures
Post by: Lord Frankie on August 05, 2008, 03:01pm
it's all right, except, the effect textures come in .igb files, like the regular skins.

so you have to use texturefinder and muaskinner to find the offsets and all.
then, decompile the source file, edit it, recompile it with a new name, and voilą, you have a new texture

then, to use that texture, decompile the .xmlb effect file that you need to change in effects/chars/dazzler, and open it with notepad.
you will find, for example, this

texture = textures/nextgen/TEXTURENAME.png ;

(as i posted before); so change TEXTURENAME to the name of your new texture, recompile as .xmlb and it's done.




remember:
if you save your new effects in "textures", you'll have to write:
texture = textures/TEXTURENAME.png ;

if you save it in "textures/nextgen", you'll have to write
texture = textures/nextgen/TEXTURENAME.png ;