Hello

Welcome, Guest. To unlock the rest of the forums
please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: MUA PS2 to XML2 PC  (Read 838 times)

Offline BaconWizard17

  • Admin
  • Incredible Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 2087
  • Upvotes: 125
  • Sometimes you just gotta go for it, ya know?
MUA PS2 to XML2 PC
« on: August 17, 2017, 10:50am »
Has anyone ever tried getting Ultimate Alliance PS2 to work on the X-Men Legends 2 PC engine? I know individual maps will work, but what about the whole game?

Offline Teancum
  • Admin
  • Ultimate Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 5942
  • Upvotes: 116
Re: MUA PS2 to XML2 PC
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2017, 04:57pm »
Not sure where you heard maps will work. They don't. MUA2 PS2 uses a weird hybrid version 3.5 of the engine (XML2 uses 3.2). But they don't run in MUA either. Years ago we tried MUA2 PS2, PSP and Wii and had no luck in XML2 PC nor MUA1 PC.

Offline BaconWizard17

  • Admin
  • Incredible Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 2087
  • Upvotes: 125
  • Sometimes you just gotta go for it, ya know?
Re: MUA PS2 to XML2 PC
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2017, 07:29pm »
Didn't nodoubtjr but in some danger room maps or something? I remember someone did something like that

Offline Teancum
  • Admin
  • Ultimate Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 5942
  • Upvotes: 116
Re: MUA PS2 to XML2 PC
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2017, 08:54pm »
Not that I remember, but you might double check in his topics.

http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php?action=profile;area=showposts;sa=messages;u=174

But in reality if it were possible we'd have seen it done long ago. The active modders we have now are very capable, but we had easily a dozen or more people that were working on getting anything MUA2 working back in 2009-11
« Last Edit: August 17, 2017, 08:58pm by Teancum »

Offline Dorpond

  • Astonishing Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
  • Upvotes: 10
Re: MUA PS2 to XML2 PC
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2017, 09:22pm »
I think he talks about that:
http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php/topic,2275.msg52335.html#msg52335
This topic was have a few pics,but now you can't see them
« Last Edit: August 17, 2017, 09:26pm by Dorpond »

Offline BaconWizard17

  • Admin
  • Incredible Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 2087
  • Upvotes: 125
  • Sometimes you just gotta go for it, ya know?
Re: MUA PS2 to XML2 PC
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2017, 04:36am »
I think he talks about that:
http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php/topic,2275.msg52335.html#msg52335
This topic was have a few pics,but now you can't see them

Yes this is the one.


But I suppose you're right about if it was possible, it would've been done.

Offline Teancum
  • Admin
  • Ultimate Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 5942
  • Upvotes: 116
Re: MUA PS2 to XML2 PC
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2017, 08:57am »
Okay, I'm an idiot.

I thought you were talking about MUA2. I guess MUA and PS2 just blended together for me.

If you're talking MUA1 PS2, then yes, you can use them. The levels use something called _combined.igb (might be off on the name). This is the main level geometry, but also has props like barrels in it. You should be able to use that and the XMLBs.

Offline BaconWizard17

  • Admin
  • Incredible Member
  • ************
  • Posts: 2087
  • Upvotes: 125
  • Sometimes you just gotta go for it, ya know?
Re: MUA PS2 to XML2 PC
« Reply #7 on: August 18, 2017, 11:39am »
Okay, I'm an idiot.

I thought you were talking about MUA2. I guess MUA and PS2 just blended together for me.

If you're talking MUA1 PS2, then yes, you can use them. The levels use something called _combined.igb (might be off on the name). This is the main level geometry, but also has props like barrels in it. You should be able to use that and the XMLBs.

Oh I gotcha. That's what I thought.

Offline LarsAlexandersson

  • Convo Starters
  • Incredible Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1585
  • Upvotes: 62
  • The fighting/action game xpert & informer.
    • http://larsmasters.deviantart.com/
Re: MUA PS2 to XML2 PC
« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2017, 06:44pm »
Okay, I'm an idiot.

I thought you were talking about MUA2. I guess MUA and PS2 just blended together for me.

If you're talking MUA1 PS2, then yes, you can use them. The levels use something called _combined.igb (might be off on the name). This is the main level geometry, but also has props like barrels in it. You should be able to use that and the XMLBs.

Somehow this must be one of the clues I need to test PSP gameplay on both games while replacing fb files with folder containing the extracted files.
Call me Lars. I'm Power Cosmic no more.

"Trying to solve mysteries of modding here"

My Progress:
http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php/topic,4671.0.html

Feel free to mod my releases, as long you credit me:
http://marvelmods.com/forum/index.php/topic,4488.0.html