Creating a custom character by duplicating another.

Started by TheVision, September 21, 2015, 03:07PM

Previous topic - Next topic
Hey guys!  Before I start let me tell you that I'm fairly new to all this modding and am only asking as a last resort.

So... My intention is to duplicate a character in order to practice what I learn from you guys on.  So I chose  :hulk_icon:, as his powers seemed to be the simplest to understand (he says) in the 'talent' & 'powerStyle' doc's etc...

Now the idea seemed simple enough.  I would copy all the files & folders in the original  :hulk_icon: mod, as there would be everything needed to get this character working in these files, then start the process of replacing any references from 'hulk' to 'nuke' (new character name) and '170' (hulk's number) to '256' (new character number).

So I opened every .igb file in a hex editor, .pkgb/.xmlb/.engb files were decompiled/compiled with NRcompiler.exe, and every instance of the word 'hulk' was changed to 'nuke', and every instance of '170' was changed to '256'.  I renamed all files & folders with the same method (hulk/nuke-170/256), until I got to a point where I could no longer find a reference to the previous character/number.  Then after the final task of modifying 'herostat', I copied all the files into my MUA directory as with every other mod...

To my dismay it did not work... First I tried just the original 'hulk' and my 'nuke' in the character select line-up and it showed 'hulk' but not 'nuke', not even a visible name, so I thought maybe the two were clashing somehow and in the second line-up I chose 'venom, nuke, thor', so I'd know 'nuke' was in between the others, in case he didn't show in the selection line-up again, and he didn't !!!!!!!!

I am at a loss people, yes I'm a newbie, yes I'v been reading the billions of posts, yes I'm learning as I go, but can I hell figure this one out.  What am I missing, what don't I know yet ?!!?